BJJ AIN’T ENOUGH FOR THE STREET!

OK, let me start out by saying that I absolutely respect BJJ. BJJ is like chess on the mat, the practitioners have to be very smart and in awesome shape. Most of the instructors at our Krav gym do BJJ with my blessing. We have to be well rounded and know what the heck we are doing on the ground. If my son is going to do only one martial art I would want it to be bjj. There is nothing better for a school yard, one on one fight.

What slays me are the people advertising BJJ as the ultimate in self defense. I just ran across a web site for a bjj gym that said “Krav Maga will get you killed”. They actually said that statistically most fights are one on one bar room type fights with no weapon ivolved so it is a waste of time to train for anything but this type of one on one fighting. This was probably a true statistical statement but just because 55% of fights are bar room type fights that don’t involve weapons does that means we shouldn’t worry about training for weapons…or for multi attackers? Run a daily google search for knife attacks or shootings across the country. Your in box will be full! Because 50,000 of 80,000 daily attacks in the U.S. don’t involve a weapon or multi attackers that’s good enough reason not to train for weapons and multi attackers? What kind of logic is that…oh yeah, it’s the “I make money off of what I teach” kind of logic.

BJJ is an awesome sport but to use it for self defense absolutely ignores real world violence. It is absolutely betting the practioners life on the fact that there will only be one attacker and there won’t be a blade involved. BJJ’s philosophy is to patiently control an opponent until they can be submitted. In the real world every scumbag has a scumbag friend near by. We should always be looking to end things as quickly as possible and to get the heck out of there. I have a friend who told me about a buddy of his that went to a “BJJ for the street” gym. He got into an altercation in a bar and pulled guard on his attacker like he was taught. The guy drew a knife and stabbed him seven times. Another friend told me of a BJJ black belt who wrapped a guy up in a bar in just a few seconds, looked awesome doing it…right up until the guy’s buddy kicked the black belt in the face, broke his jaw and knocked him out. If you are on the ground tied up with someone you are absolutely making the assumption that he doesn’t have a knife and doesn’t have a buddy. These are not assumptions that will keep you safe.

From a thread on our site by my buddy Aaron Jannetti; “If you understand the nature of violence, and how easy it is to harm someone, you will quickly understand that two places you don’t want to be are on the ground or wrapped up with someone.

There are some very impressive techniques which would absolutely get you f’d up with a violent individual in an icy parking lot.

Don’t believe me, fine. Here is the experiment. Find someone who you think can kick your ass with their grappling. Tell them to grab you up. Your only job is to see how many times you can stick your fingers on their eye brow ridge or grab the inside of their leg next to their testicles. Every time you can touch their eye brow is a time you could have gotten a finger in to their orbital socket. Every time you touch their leg is a ripped sack or torn off junk. You will quickly find the limitations of someone trying to hold you down on the floor.

Second experiment, grappler vs edged weapon. Take a magic marker, put it in your pocket. Have your ass whupping grappler put the ju-ju on you. Your only task is to get to the marker, and touch them with it. Their job is to shut you down. Much learning will take place.”

Have you ever tried bjj on concrete or blacktop? AJ has and he informs me that there is no good position. Being on the bottom gets you ground into hamburger. Knees and elbows get torn to shreds when in side control. The mount sounds good until the opponent starts bucking and your knees slam over and over into the pavement.

That magic mount is such a strong position in the ring. In the real world the dude on the bottom puts you in a big bear hug until his buddy can get over to ya and kick your head off.

Again, I am not bad mouthing BJJ at all. I have made it a goal this year to get into a BJJ gym and finally get decent on the ground. I am bad mouthing those who are telling students that BJJ is all the self defense they need for real world violence. BE SAFE!

40 Comments

  1. good post.

  2. Know your enemy, know yourself and in 100 battles you’ll never loose.

    Sun Tzu

    Mark I couldn’t agree more!

    Your enemy is vicious. He is a predator. He will cheat and knows nothing but wining. You must be the same. Fight without rules. Use what ever action necessary to win. Sport fighting has it’s place. It’s place is not the street. It’s place is not a real life deadly situation. Train hard, train all ranges, train to win. Train like your enemy.

    Stay safe,

    Ed Peck
    Force 3 Krav Maga and Fitness

  3. […] A very thoughtful article and well worth your time to read and ponder. OK, let me start out by saying that I absolutely respect BJJ. BJJ is like chess on the mat, the practitioners have to be very smart and in awesome shape. Most of the instructors at our Krav gym do BJJ with my blessing. We have to be well rounded and know what the heck we are doing on the ground. If my son is going to do only one martial art I would want it to be bjj. There is nothing better for a school yard, one on one fight. What slays me are t … Read More […]

  4. Great article!

  5. If you are really good at BJJ it will change your life. You are always learning. If your attacker doesnt have any Jiu Jitsu skills you will choke him out if your any good at all. Krav maga is cool, but its not the same as BJJ at all. BJJ every class you learn and have to fight for almost your life in a respectful manner. This gets you into shape, and conditions your body to a real life attack. Where your gassed and cant breathe, and fighting to stay alive. Then you slap five and say thank you.. Krav Maga is short term. Learn some knife tricks… Its cool, but not a real like Journey.

    • Well, certainly enjoy your journey. The valid points on why Krav Maga makes more sense for a violent real world encounter were not refuted by any of what you just said, however.

      • So… what happens if he doesnt have a knife and hes just bigger then me… damn i should have learned BJJ! 🙂 Most people want to be able to be a good fighter in a fist fight not like a fight to the death will knives and shit. Like thats cool, but if you feel like your going some where that people might stab you,,, bring a knife as well, and know BJJ!

    • If he’s bigger than you, kick him in the groin. Is that simple!

  6. Yeah krav maga is more a kick in the nuts short term idea..hey take a self defense class. Cool!!! How many guys in the UFC are Krav maga guys compared to Jiu jitsu guys…. wait i dont think there are any krav maga guys in the UFC. I think a Krav maga student would destroy someone thats not trained at all. And its good a family self defense thing to take. Kick him in the nuts then poke is eye.. Its good to put krava maga on top of another fighter style. Its good to know how to take a weapon away and what not. Some James Bond shit. But if you wanna be able to hold your own at school, or have bulleys.. Learn Muay thai or BJJ. You dont wanna always be stabbing people.. You’ll go to jail haha. And the kids might tease you if you just grabbed your bulleys nuts…

    • Tim and Chad, we’re talking about two different things. You guys are talking about UFC and bullies and I’m talking about surviving real world violent encounters. The IDF would be doing BJJ if that was what was best at keeping them alive. Look up home invasions and what those scum bags do to people. I ain’t tapping them out, i’m taking them out my friends. A sport with rules who’s philosophy is to “patiently control until you can submit” isn’t self defense. I understand your pride in the art you are taking but your arguments don’t make sense if the topic is self defense in the real world.

  7. You right its for sure cool to be trained for a home invasion. Cheers

  8. As someone who is new to BJJ, almost a year and a half into training (4 strip white belt) twice a week I will say that you make some very good points, particularly in regards to the nut grabs, eye gouges or biting that might occur in a real life and death style fight. I do however have one problem with Krav Maga and that’s that most of the type of training involves non-fully resisting opponents. BJJ is one of the few martial arts (other than judo, wrestling, and sambo) where you can practice it without pads against a fully resisting opponent. That alone is HUGE when practicing anything. We may drill all day long until we’re 100% confident that we can perform a manuever only to realize after the first try against a fully resisting opponent that we don’t really know how to use it without panicking at the first sign of resistance. Then comes more training until it’s just instinct. But that only comes with fully resisting opponents day in and day out. Most of Krav Maga’s specialized techniques that I’ve seen can’t be practiced safely without seriously injuring someone, nor do we really know exactly how our opponent may use his said weapon or what and how his buddy might want to attack us. In short I think you’re giving yourself a false sense of confidence that really could get you killed in a situation that talking and swallowing a little pride might get you out of. I say practice KM all you want and maybe just maybe it will save your life but if you’re relying on that knife or gun disarm to work, you may find out the hard way (when you’re dead) that you didn’t really know what to expect because you we’re able to practice it against numerous opponents and experience all the different types of resistance. BJJ may have it’s limitations but at least after rolling over and over again, you know what you are and aren’t capable of 99% of the time. Regardless, you do make good points and I’m not trying to completely disregard KM. I’d just much rather be very good at one limited aspect of fighting than falsely confident that I could handle all of the others.

    • Thanks for the reply. I like hearing other thoughts on self defense, it helps me to be able to articulate what I believe and give it a lot of thought. I actually have a long reply for what you just said. It ended up being so long that I am actually going to make it next weeks blog. I hope to hear from you again. Thanks again!

      • Cool, well I’ll check back and read your reply. I didn’t mean to imply that I think KM doesn’t work I’m just a little skeptical that one could ever really train to truly handle things like knife/gun wielding opponents with consistency without a way to safely practice against knife/gun wielding opponents, or nut grabbing, eye gouging opponents for that matter. On the other side of the coin though I’m certainly no expert and a complete noob who has little confidence or skill at even simple BJJ at this point. I have no experience with KM either so maybe I just have a lot to learn. I’ll try to hold off on the contempt prior to investigation. When I first started rolling I didn’t honestly think someone half my size could beat me and I learned rather quickly how wrong I was 🙂

    • Hi Todd ! I have a blue belt in BJJ and Judo and I am also an Krav Maga instructor. First of all, in Krav Maga we do train full out on a fully resisting opponent. This is what helmet and groin protection for. This is how we train in Israel. We just can’t do eye gauge.
      Secondly, BJJ techniques & principal will help you in self defense but sports mentality will get you killed on the street. It is not the style that matters in self defense but merely the mentality and application of techniques. If you can apply BJJ techniques with Krav Maga mentality then sir ! you are a dangerous man. 🙂

  9. If your a BJJ student and your finding chokes all the time against other quality students. You will choke the general public out. If your in a 1 on 1 street fight shoot a bring the person to the ground. If the person has a weapon don’t fight.

    • uh…ok. I think your self defense plan has a few holes. What are you doing with more than one attackers, with that weapon that you can’t run from because your kids are with you, etc, etc.? also, you ever do bjj on blacktop? That taking them down and choking them out isn’t the same experience as it is in the gym. Just some thoughts for you.

  10. Umm watch Bas talk about Jiu jitsu.. He knows more then any of you!!! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UyXERDeMbKI

    • Katie, Bas could whoop three guys using Tai chi. How does that translate to the 5 foot, 100 pound female defending herself? BTW, here’s a quote for you; “Unlike most Martial Arts, Krav Maga is extremely effective for the street. Krav Maga is the real thing.” —Bas Rutten

  11. Wow, I just had to delete a bunch of comments. People calling me retarded, that I must have sucked at BJJ so I did krav, that krav is for people who can’t fight, that I am an idiot, etc. Really? A logical argument on the blog and refuting the points made that BJJ’s philosophy of “patiently control until you can submit” isn’t the best self defense philosophy for real world street violence would be educational. I certainly like hearing other points of view. I actually look into them and at times change what I think. Nobody is right all of the time. Being educated in a subject is how we grow. Calling names and throwing fits because someone said something bad about what you study is how to stay an infant.

    Anyone want to logically refute any of the points in this blog?

    • if your really trying to turn yourself into a machine learn how to box and jiu jitsu.

      • Well, it sounds like you are all for Krav Maga then! Krav takes boxing, Muay Thai, BJJ, etc. and steals what’s effective…and get’s rid of anything complicated. The IDF knows what they are doing…nothing but effective, easy to learn and brutal techniques mixed with a “go forward and go hard” attitude. Thanks, Bruce!

  12. I feel so bad for your students…. 😦 its not right what your preaching. Im sorry but for the safety of the kids tell the truth. Don’t hold them back cause your scared and don’t perform armbars and triangles

    • Katie, I am not sure why you would feel bad for my students. You have never seen one of my classes or have any idea what they entail. If you are ever near when i am teaching i do invite you to drop in.

      You are mistaken about a few things, number one is that I don’t teach kids. Adults only. Secondly, I always tell the truth. Thirdly, I wouldn’t be much of a teacher if I held anyone back because I am scared (a silly comment btw). Lastly our curriculum does have triangles and armbars. They are fine techniques. The blog is talking about being on the ground when you are unsure if there is a weapon or a second attacker involved. Instead of being emotional and lashing out because someone said something unflattering about what you study please refute some of the points in the blog and start a discussion.

      I wish you the best.

  13. Eddie Bravo once said….. Normally people have two options in a fight.. Swing or wrestle. A Jiu Jitsu Student has 3… Swing. Wrestle, Pull Guard… I work off my back so much that if someone is on top they are not staying there… I think god I learned jiu jitsu. I teach my mom krav maga cause shes not that into learning how to fight

    • Eddie is a fine coach and he is correct for fighting in the ring. I would argue that on the street there are a few more (much more intelligent) options. Run would be one, find something to use as a weapon would be another.

      I am very happy that you are proud of your art. I respect and enjoy practicing BJJ as well. The blog had nothing to do with any of that but with surviving real world street violence. Being on the ground if there are multiple attackers or a blade involved isn’t smart. Rolling around on concrete while my attacker’s buddies are approaching seems to not be nearly as smart as to do maximum damage in minimum time and get out of there. I am simply arguing that for street violence “patiently controlling until you can submit” isn’t the best philosophy. Instead of being emotional and lashing out because someone said something unflattering about what you study please refute some of the points in the blog and start a discussion.

      • Why doesn’t the blog say this then…. Buy a gun or knife… If you don’t have one run….. You making it sound like Krav Maga is better then jiu jitsu. and we all know that’s not the case.

    • I had to comment. I am a blue belt in bjj, did muay thai for a little over a year and wrestled growing up for 8 years and gave all of those up for Krav 4 years ago. Where I grew up wasn’t always the prettiest of places. Most people on the street have something to use as a weapon on them and the ground is the last place you want to be. Because of growing up this way, I always carry a legal blade on me and I live in a great neighborhood now but I don’t care, bad things happen to good people every day. I don’t care if you pull guard, try to choke me or whatever. If I have a weapon it’s over. I gave up all of the other stuff because it’s clearly a sports mentality, I’m not going toe to toe with someone, I’m not a fighter but I will defend myself to the ultimate end and I have gotten that mentality from Krav Maga not bjj or anything else. It’s funny to see so many comments being made that we don’t fully train. Every friday I go to fight class and we gear up and go full contact, even groin kicks on each other. We also can throw things at each other, grab a knife when we want, sticks or other objects. Anything to mix it up. You don’t have to mentally remember every degree, angle, etc. of every move. If you have ever been in a life or death situation you would know that your mind actually shuts off and your muscle memory takes over.

      One last thought. If Krav was a such a joke, why would military’s around the world including US special forces train it? I doubt because its a waste of time or ineffective.

  14. Goodness, Bufflobills. If you read up on Krav Maga that is exactly what we suggest, have a weapon, run, avoid bad situations in the first place, etc. Self defense is recovery from stupidity or bad luck. I mention all of these in other blogs. This blog was why BJJ and the philosophy of take it to the ground to “patiently control until you can submit” isn’t a great philosophy for violence on the street because…well, because of the several points the blog made that you have yet to refute. Krav Maga is only better than BJJ when it comes to real world violent street encounters. This is what it was designed for by the Israeli Defense Forces. Please make valid points on why this is wrong and we can discuss like adults. IF “…we all know that’s not the case” please show some proof. Just whining because someone put down what you’re studying isn’t helping either of us become better educated on self defense.

    and I commend you on teaching Krav to your mother (although I don’t know how you can teach something you don’t know, maybe you can explain that to me). What krav does best is take people from zero self defense to being able to protect themselves faster than anything else. Your mama is being made safe, quickly and that’s a great thing. Also, Krav doesn’t rely on size or brute strength so it is perfect for your mama. Way to go!!

  15. You dont need a martial art in order to hit someone in groin or to eye gouge. The fact that you cannot practice these techniques places you in a disadvantage and a false sense of security. A fight is not scripted.

    • I don’t call myself a martial artist. I study violence, what stress does to a person being attacked, what the adrenaline dump does to a person being attacked, etc. To paraphrase what you said “the fact that you cannot practice snapping someone’s arm and then letting them get up to see how much fight they have left places you in a disadvantage and a false sense of security. A fight is not scripted.”

      • It is very interesting how people try to make a point in something that is allready proven by finding scenarios that strengthen their point of view. We as bjj’ers have a strong opinion about the effectiveness of our art because gracies proved that – period. I am wondering how krav maga and wing chun that CLAIM to be the most effective in a street fight can PROVE that. If they can i will ofcourse try to learn that art. But IMO all martial arts give a benefit to a practitioner if that practinioner activelly fights or spars regurally because he can see what his potential and limits are. If you want to be honest you have to admit that in 1 on 1 fight bjj has proven its value. But for 2 in 1 battle there is NO art that honestly can guarantee you are the winner. Morever if there is a weapon involved then you should run. Its that simple. Trying to disarm a knife with the scripted techniques is pointless. And rener gracie in a video for self defence in a street fight 3 -1 u can not avoid, he told , hit first , hit hard and get out of there. (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e864iZ4sB8Q) FIrst he explained how your ego is involved and avoiding the situation should be your goal. Thats the proper way a teacher should educate martial art students , and not by making them believe that they can disarm 3 people with knives. And as you have allready propably seen it is not by accident that bjj guys have the most realistic and pragmatic view regarding these subjects. Osss

  16. Hi everyone,

    I’m not sure if this thread is still active or anyone will bother to read this, but after reading all the comments here, I thought I’d share my 2 cents.

    A little about me, I’ve taken martial arts all my life – Karate in middle and high school, Wing Chun/JKD in my 20s and now Krav in my 30s. I am also about to start learning BJJ in a few weeks in addition to Krav. So what I’m about to write is coming from a neutral perspective since I’m going to be learning both.

    As you guys read this, I implore you not to get defensive about your art, but think about what I’m saying logically since I’m coming at it from both perspectives.

    Let me start off by saying that different situations call for different responses. If I got in to a school brawl in middle or high school, would I want to gouge someone’s eyes out? No. The situation does not warrant that sort of aggressiveness. Would it help to use BJJ on that school kid? Absolutely. Chances are very high that that sort of fight will result in a clinch and go to the ground, so BJJ skills would come in very handy.

    What about on the streets? If I am being mugged and my life is not in danger, would I want to start a fight? No, take my wallet and go and let me go. Now…if my life was in DANGER, or that of my loved one, would I do everything I could to survive and get away? Absolutely. So in that case, going to the ground with one (or possibly more than 1) attacker who is yielding a knife is not the best idea. It is so easy for someone to stab you 5-10 times even as you clinch with the guy and try and mount him to pummel his face. If there was only 1 attacker and my life was in danger, then knowing how to disarm a knife (Krav) is more helpful to me than not knowing what the hell to do in such situations (BJJ). I’m not saying that I would be successful in doing so – real life situations tend to be different sometimes than practicing in a room with non-violent partners. But my point is that Krav does teach you those skills and if you ever need to use them, you have them in your arsenal and can try to do it if you are faced with extreme danger. Otherwise, as I stated before, if all you want is my watch and wallet, then take it and go and no one needs to get hurt. This is a situation where I think Krav does better than BJJ – BJJ students are not taught how to deal with a knife or a stick for that matter, whereas Krav does prepare you to mentally deal with those situations.

    Now what if there were multiple armed attackers on the streets? Would one art fare better than the other? The truth is that anytime you are faced with 3 or 4 or more people, than you’re pretty much screwed. Anything you can do to get the hell out of there and fast is your most intelligent bet. BJJ is definitely not going to help in such situations. Krav does teach you to fight multiple attackers, but again, how effective that will be in a real life situation is debatable and depends on so many things – your personal Krav skills, the skills of your attackers to mount joint attacks, what weapons they are carrying, etc etc. So what I’m trying to say here is that whereas running away is your best bet, if you had to apply either Krav or BJJ in such a situation, Krav would be better since you do train for such situations and knowing something about dealing with such a situation is better than not knowing anything about it in the first place.

    What about a 1:1 fight with a larger, more powerful, taller, more athletic opponent on the streets? In such cases, again, my intention is not to get in to a long, drawn out fight. If I can kick the guy in the groin, send a knee to his face as he hunches over and then get the hell out of there, that’s my preferred approach. However, if am I cornered and this fight is going to happen and I have to hurt him or get badly hurt in the process before the fight ends, then standing toe to toe and trying to apply Krav is not going to help me as much as BJJ. Sure, I would still try my long range attacks first like kicks to the midsection and groin followed by knees and elbows or picking up something from the ground if I can use it as a weapon. If I don’t have a weapon and I quickly see that the guy is too powerful and I fear that his one punch might knock me out, then I would much prefer to resort to clinching and applying BJJ skills to take him out, provided it’s just him and I fighting and that his buddies are not standing there. I also need to make some sort of assessment that the guy is not going to pull a knife on me mid-fight and is more intent on fighting me with his bare hands. However, while going to the ground, I should always be aware of his intentions. If mid-fight, he does pull a knife, I need to be prepared to switch back from BJJ to Krav and then apply what I know in Krav to either use something on the ground or disarm him or again, kick to the groin and try and escape. Trying to apply BJJ arm bars or traingles on a guy with a knife is just not smart in such situations and you will definitely get hurt badly if you do.

    What about a bar fight? Chances are that it will go to the ground, so BJJ is definitely handy. But, I have heard of many stories where people have gotten hurt badly while being on the ground in a bar fight. Either your attacker’s friend jumps in and kicks you or even passers by who see you sitting on top of your attacker hitting him think that YOU are the bully that’s hurting an innocent guy and they jump in to hit you and then run away. So yes, BJJ is helpful, but so is Krav in such situations – in a bar brawl, with people around you, in my opinion, it’s not in your best intention to stay on the ground for too long as you never know what is going to happen.

    Others have talked about the UFC and that people learn BJJ for UFC and not Krav. That is true to a certain extent. First of all, Krav is not just about groin kicks and eye gouges. Please understand that Krav borrows elements from boxing, Muay Thai (elbows, knees, etc) and other arts, so throwing a straight punch is part of Krav. Elbowing someone is part of Krav. Kneeing someone is also Krav. So UFC does have elements that are also taught in Krav. For those of you who don’t know, Krav also teaches you to fight on the ground, although we admit that we don’t like to be on the ground too long (for reasons I’ve already stated above). But we do learn basic BJJ techniques – guard, mount, bridging, shrimping, elbow escapes, bucking and rolling, arm bars, chokes. We are not BJJ experts in Krav, but we know a little – enough to be effective in a street fight on the ground against someone who knows very little about BJJ. So yes, the UFC uses a lot of BJJ, but Krav does teach you some of that as well.

    In my opinion, both Krav and BJJ are great forms of martial arts. If you ask me my personal, unbiased opinion, Krav is more well rounded than BJJ. It teaches you how to fight standing up, what to do if you go to the ground (yes, it does not teach you every single variation of every move on the ground like BJJ does, but enough for you to be effective under duress), how to disarm an armed attacker (how effective that is under duress is another thing, but again, knowing is better than not knowing at all), how to be aware of your environment and use what you can as a weapon or to look for an exit and run away. But in my opinion, Krav does not focus on whatever little skills are taught in BJJ early enough in the curriculum. You are taught ground skills starting in level 2. I would like to see some ground skills being taught in level 1. Even then, I find that core BJJ skills like managing the distance on the ground is not taught explicitly. I like the Gracie philosophy – “he who manages the distance manages the damage”. I think BJJ (at least the Gracie Combatives curriculum which seems to focus more on street BJJ), does a good job of teaching practical ground skills to manage distance, close the gap and make the most of an unpleasant situation. Krav can definitely benefit from adding some of that in to their level 1 curriculum.

    As a Krav practitioner, I think BJJ is fascinating and very useful to have in my arsenal when I need it most.

    In the end, there is a reason I want to learn both – I think each has it’s own place given the situation that you face. I hope that you will see where I’m coming from and in the end, if you don’t agree, then we can simply agree to disagree. 🙂

    • You seem to be talking a lot about sparring, tournaments and ufc. None of that is self defense. Sparring has rules and is done for xx minute rounds. Self defense is going from overwhelmed, terrified and confused to bursting forward with hatred and rage to do the maximum amount of damage in the minimum amount of time and then getting to safety. BJJ;s philosophy of “patiently controlling until you can submit” isn’t self defense…it is a sport.

  17. “But in my opinion, Krav does not focus on whatever little skills are taught in BJJ early enough in the curriculum. ”

    I did not communicate clearly in the above statement what I meant. What I was trying to say is that whatever little BJJ skills Krav does teach you, I feel like they should start teaching those skills early on, starting in level 1.

  18. Nah…I don’t rely on a sport who’s credo is to “patiently control until you can submit” for self defense. Study what real violence is and you will decide that a second attacker or a weapon make the ground a place you don’t want to be. You are also making assumptions on how we train that aren’t so. We put everything under stress, exhaustion, a realistic attack, etc. Just how much terror do you compete with anyhow? You are training a sport my friend, and thinking it’s self defense.

    • ” I am not against krav maga only i think the same for traditional chinese systems that think that are the deadliest and dont have a single guy competing in any tournament using the this style.”

      There’s a reason that they are not competing in a tournament. Their style isn’t about scoring points, it’s about disabling. There is a big difference. Same with Krav. I don’t know how you would have a tournament with Krav. 3 points for each groin kick and eye gouge? Like I have posted earlier, I did BJJ for over 3 years as well as Muai Thai and wrestled for 8 years. They are sports. BJJ was/is a self defense system but I haven’t come across a single gym that deploys training for true self defense scenarios. Everything we discussed at BJJ was about scoring and control in tournament based scenarios. But I get it, that’s what sells.

      I stopped doing all other sports for Krav Maga because I am older now and I don’t have an interest in competing. I am interested in defending myself, wife and kids if needed. I want to be prepared for a weapon, car jacking, etc. No other system really teaches this anymore, except Krav. I cannot convince you or anyone else that we train hard and we don’t deploy as you say, “performing pre determined repetitions of ” you will do that i will respond like that”. When we train we learn multiple ways to deal with certain types of attacks but there isn’t one that is better than the other. Yes, when we learn the defenses there are repetitions done but then we go to a live drill and all bets are off. The main goal is to successfully get away and defend yourself by any means.

      You’ll never know unless you go. I’ve experienced your side of the coin but you refuse to experience ours. Videos don’t do it justice and you shouldn’t really speak about something you don’t know anything about.

  19. Well written truths. BJJ is good for self mastery. By that I mean you can gain confidence by mastering and being skillfull with your physical abilities, just like being skillful at any sport. In actual violent encounters BJJ is very limited, as far as multiple opponents go, real “no rules” fighting, and most definitely the weapons factor. Working in health care, I have seen the outcome of a 4 on 1 assault. It ultimately, and unfortunately left the patient dead. This came after his family had to witness him suffering from his traumatic neurological injuries which he ultimately succumbed to. Traditional Ju jitsu combined with BJJ would probably lead to a more well rounded practioner. Just like combing Krav with BJJ. This way you train in stand up “Atemi” striking, traditional joint locks or “Chin-na”, and ground game. But, to soley rely on “taking an opponent to the ground” and using a BJJ game is leaving yourself open to serious or even fatal injury.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

